Academic Programs

Current degree programs

The Associates of Applied Science in Culinary Arts is an eighteen (18) month intensive training credit bearing degree program to prepare students for mid-level employment and entry-level management in the culinary arts and other hospitality fields. The program is designed to provide job skill training and work experience in food service, customer service, and business development and management. The program also incorporates general education in food studies and other humanities topics in order to prepare graduates with a diverse skill set that will enable them to thrive in the evolving food service and hospitality industries.

Other educational and training programs

The Culinary Arts Training Program is a six (6) month intensive culinary training program to prepare students for entry level employment in the culinary field. The program is designed to provide job skill training and work experience in the culinary arts, food delivery, and catering. The program incorporates formal culinary curriculum with work experience and job readiness instruction.

The Hospitality Training Program at Lutheran Metropolitan Ministry is a nine (9) month intensive hospitality training program that builds on the skills developed in the Culinary Arts certificate program to prepare students for entry level employment in other areas of the hospitality field or mid-level positions in the culinary field specifically. The Program is designed to provide job skill training and work experience in both food service and customer service. The program incorporates formal hospitality curriculum with work experience and job readiness instruction.

The Advanced Culinary Arts and Hospitality Program is an eighteen (18) month intensive training program that builds on the skills developed in the Culinary Arts and Hospitality Programs to prepare students for mid-level employment and entry-level management in the culinary arts and other hospitality fields. The program is designed to provide job skill training and work experience in food service, customer service, and business development and management. The program also incorporates general education in food studies and other humanities topics in order to prepare graduates with a diverse skill set that will enable them to thrive in the evolving food service and hospitality industries.

Instructional and Laboratory Facilities

Our facilities provide all the tools students need to succeed including study aids, computers and commercial grade equipment in the kitchen. In addition, Staff Partners are available for tutoring and career assistance throughout the day. Contact our staff using the directory below if you wish to schedule a meeting during office hours.

Faculty and Instructional Personnel

Bass, Gary. Adjunct Instructor. BS, Cleveland State University. gbass@lutheranmetro.org

Bass, Kaylyn. Adjunct Instructor. M.ED, Cleveland State University. kbass@lutheranmetro.org

Campbell, Laura. Sous Chef. AAS/BA, Culinary Institute of America, Wooster College. lcampbell@lutheranmetro.org

Ciarallo, Joe. Career Development Specialist 216-658-8457 jciarallo@lutheranmetro.org

Fox, Rebekah. Culinary Instructor. AAS, Culinary Institute of Michigan. 216-696-2715 rfox@lutheranmetro.org

Hampel, Gweynn. Adjunct Faculty. M.ED, Akron University. ghampel@lutheranmetro.org

Holden, Annie. Adjunct Faculty. MA, University of York. aholden@lutheranmetro.org

Kidd, Malika. Program Director. BA, Cleveland State University. 216-658-8432 mkidd@lutheranmetro.org

Marks, Ian. Vice President. MBA, Cleveland State University. 216-658-4608 imarks@lutheranmetro.org

Nlandu, Cella. Adjunct Instructor. cnlandu@lutheranmetro.org

Stiles, Elizabeth. Academic Programs Manager. BA, Allegheny College. 216-658-4632 x190 estiles@lutheranmetro.org

Teaman, Scott. Executive Chef. AAS/BA, Johnson and Wales University. 216-658-4632 x276 steaman@lutheranmetro.org